Indoor Cricket League Rules

Matches are six/seven/eight players a side, ten/twelve/fourteen overs per innings.
Bowlers each bowl a maximum of two overs.
All bowling is from one end, at the end of an over, the batters change ends.
The wicketkeeper does not bowl, the wicketkeeper may only be changed during the match if they are injured whilst playing.
On the fall of the 5th/6th/7th wicket, “last man standing” applies,  the batter who is out goes to the non-striker’s end to play as a runner only; the last remaining not out batter faces all deliveries. If the runner is run out, that is the final wicket and the innings is over.
Batters 1 and/or 2 must retire at the end of the 4th over if batters 3 and/or 4 have yet to bat.
Batters 3 and/or 4 must retire at the end of the 8th over if batters 5 and/or 6 have yet to bat.
(12 over match only)  Batter 5 must retire at the end of the 10th over if batter 7 has yet to bat.
(14 over match only)  Batters 5 and/or 6 must retire at the end of the 12th over if batters 7 and/or 8 have yet to bat.
All players must have a turn of at least one of: batting, bowling or wicketkeeping. If the side batting first is dismissed before all bowlers have bowled, then when it is their turn to bat, the bowlers who did not get a bowl must bat first.
The second innings in a match continues until all wickets fall or the overs are complete, whichever comes first, regardless of match result, because in the event of a tie on matches won, points scored will decide league positions.
Batters also retire on passing 25 points (or 50 if they do really well), retired batsmen may bat again once all in their side have batted. Once they have passed 50, batters may not face any more deliveries, they may continue as a runner only.
No balls or wides are not bowled again, except the final over of an innings, which must contain six good deliveries. If the umpire suspects a wide or no-ball is deliberate, e.g. to keep a strong batsman off strike, it must be bowled again.
A delivery which bounces more than twice before it reaches the batsman is a no ball, but “technical” no balls will only be given if the bowler gains an unfair advantage. E.g. only a fast bowler will be penalised for “throwing” or overstepping the line.
All bowlers must initially bowl overarm, the umpires may instruct a bowler to bowl underam or bowl from closer to the batter if they feel the bowler cannot bowl fair overarm deliveries.
No LBWs unless the umpire feels the batsman is deliberately using their leg(s) to defend their wicket and has not tried to hit the hall.
Batsmen can be out caught off a wall or ceiling as long as the ball has not struck the floor or become lodged in a net or other gym equipment.
If a side is short of players, the lowest scoring batter gets an extra innings, each captain picks one bowler to bowl an extra over.
Two points are scored for every run that is physically run.
If the ball hits the wall behind the bowler, a boundary is scored. Four points are scored if the ball touched the ground first, six points if the ball does not touch the ground first.
If the ball hits any other wall, one point is scored per wall.
Scoring is cumulative, e.g. if a batsman hits the ball against a wall and runs, they score points for both hitting the wall and for the runs that have been run.
The batting side scores two points for a wide or no ball.

Umpires may award the batting side 5 runs if they feel the bowling team has deliberately not taken a wicket, e.g. not tried to take a catch, in order to prevent a retired batter returning.


Popular Posts